Governor's STEM Advisory Council as of July 1, 2013

Co-Chair – Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds, State of Iowa, Des Moines, IA
Co-Chair – Ms. Mary Andringa, President and CEO, Vermeer Corporation, Pella, IA
Executive Director – Dr. Jeff Weld, Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council, Cedar Falls, IA

STEM Advisory Executive Committee

  • Dr. Brad Buck, Director, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Kacia Cain, Educator, Central Campus, Indianola, IA
  • Mr. John Carver, Superintendent, Howard-Winneshiek Community Schools, Cresco, IA
  • Dr. Robert Denson, President, Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, IA
  • Ms. Deborah Durham, Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Steven Leath, President, Iowa State University, Ames, IA
  • Dr. Sally Mason, President, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
  • Mr. Robert 'Kelly' Ortberg, CEO and President, Rockwell Collins, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Dr. Mark Putnam, President, Central College, Pella, IA
  • Dr. William Ruud, President, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
  • Mr. Paul Schickler III, President, DuPont-Pioneer, Ankeny, IA
  • Mr. Gary Scholten, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Principal Financial Group, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Teresa Wahlert, Director, Iowa Workforce Development, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Bradley Woody, Division President, Ellison Technologies, Monroe, IA
  • Ms. Gail Wortmann, Instructor/Developer, Iowa Learning Online, Bloomfield, IA

STEM Advisory Council Members

  • Mr. Patrick Barnes, Program Director, Global STEM, John Deere Moline Technology Innovation Center, Moline, IL
  • Ms. Carolyn Boss, Software Account Executive, IBM, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Lin Chapé, Vice President, Global Human Resources/Organizational Development, Vermeer Corporation, Pella, IA
  • Dr. Jordan Cohen, Advisor and Special Assistant to the Provost, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
  • Ms. Cindy Dietz, Director, Corporate Communications, Rockwell Collins, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Mr. Ryan Drew, Business Representative, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 150, West Burlington, IA
  • Ms. Deborah Dunkhase, Executive Director, The Iowa Children’s Museum, Coralville, IA
  • Mr. Jon Erickson, Interim President, ACT, Inc., Iowa City, IA
  • Mr. Cameron Evans, National & Chief Technology Officer, U.S. Education, Microsoft Corporation, Euless, TX
  • Mr. Jeff Herzberg, Chief Administrator, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency, Pocahontas, IA
  • Ms. Mary 'Beth' Hochstedler, Education, Training & Outreach Director, State Hygienic Lab, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
  • Ms. AnnElyse Howard, Student, Valley High School, West Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Rachel Hurley, Executive Director, Iowa Biotechnology Association, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Leann Jacobson, President, Technology Association of Iowa, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Craig Johnson, Executive Director, Iowa Academy of Science, Cedar Falls, IA
  • Dr. Alissa Jourdan, Director, Research and Development, Kemin Industries, Inc., Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Jordan Lampe, Director of Communications, Dwolla, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Valerie Newhouse, President, Iowa Lakes Community College, Estherville, IA
  • Ms. Sharon Rosenboom, Instructor of Mathematics, Northwestern College, Orange City, IA
  • Ms. Macenzie Rubin, Research Scientist, Monsanto, Ankeny, IA
  • Ms. Catherine Swoboda, Director, Iowa & Midwest Education Programs, The World Food Prize Foundation, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Tamara Trinder, Nurse Practitioner, Mercy Clinics, West Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Jonathan Wickert, Senior Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University, Ames, IA
  • Dr. Isa Zimmerman, Consultant, IKZ Advisors, Boston, MA
  • Representative Josh Byrnes, State of Iowa House of Representatives (ex-officio)
  • Senator E. Mark Chelgren, State of Iowa Senate (ex-officio)
  • Senator Brian Schoenjahn, State of Iowa Senate (ex-officio)
  • Representative Sharon Steckman, State of Iowa House of Representatives (ex-officio)

Additional information regarding the Governor's STEM Advisory Council